Bringg Driver App: Permissions & Settings

iOS

If you're using an iOS device, you have 4 location settings to choose from:

  • Always: Bringg driver app may collect location information only when the driver is on shift. This includes when your app is in the background. This is the preferred permission.

  • While using the app: Bringg driver app may collect location information only when the driver is on shift and the app is visible on the screen. since the driver’s location is needed also when the app is in the background for other components of the platform like customer experience, auto dispatch, and route optimization. the app will prompt a dialog to explain that and instruct the user to select the “always” location permission.

  • Never: This option disables location services for the Bringg driver app. the app will prompt a dialog to explain that and instruct the user to select the “always” location permission.

  • Ask: The app will ask you again next time.

To manage location settings on your device:

  1. Open your device's Settings
  2. Tap "Privacy," then "Location Services"
  3. Tap "Bringg"
  4. Select "Always" and toggle one “Precise Location”.

Background Data Permissions on iOS Devices

  1. On the iOS Home Screen select ’Settings’
  2. Scroll down the page until you get to the list of apps, then select the ’Bringg’ app
  3. Please confirm the following:
  • ’Background App Refresh’ is Enabled.
  • ’Cellular Data’ is Enabled
  • And while there, please also confirm: ’Location’ is set to ’Always’

Location Services Permissions on iOS Devices

  1. On the iOS Home Screen select ’Settings’
  2. Then select ’Privacy’ (or scroll down the page until you get to the list of apps)
  3. Then select the ’Bringg’ app
  4. Confirm that ’Allow Location Services’ is set to ’Always’

Android

Allowing Android Permissions and other basic settings

  • Make sure all permissions are enabled for the Bringg Driver app, specifically camera, location, phone, and storage app permissions.
  • Make sure the Bringg app is allowed to appear on top of other apps, e.g. pop-ups, draw over other apps
  • See List of Android Permissions

Allowing Background Data Usage on Android
The setting required is part of Android’s ‘Data Saver’ feature

  • The name of this setting and and its location within your settings vary greatly with different manufacturers, devices and OS versions.

  • The setting we need is commonly called ’Allow Unrestricted Data Usage’ or ’Unrestricted data usage’

  • The setting is typically found in:

  • Settings > Advanced > Data Saver > Allow unrestricted data usage

  • Settings > Network & Internet > Data usage > Mobile data usage

  • If you cannot find the settings for your device, this How-To-Geek article can be helpful

  • Please ensure that ‘Power Saver’ mode (name may vary) is disabled

  • In the app list, please ensure that ‘Bringg’ is allowed to access cellular data in the background (or equivalent)

  • If you have the additional option to ‘allow cellular data while in Power Saver Mode (not available in all Android devices) please ensure this is also enabled. This is important as some devices will move into ’Power Saver Mode’ automatically when battery levels drop below 15-20%. We have found that this can occur even if Data Saver is usually marked as ‘Off’.

Setting Location Accuracy Mode on Android

  • If a device takes a long time (or fails) to secure an accurate fix on its location, it may be due to the device’s ‘Location Accuracy’ settings

  • We recommend always setting your device to ‘High Accuracy’ when using the Bringg Driver App

  1. Go to Settings > Location > Mode > High Accuracy : You may have to tap the Location twice to get the additional settings : The exact location of this setting may vary from model to model and version of Android. You may have to consult your device’s documentation

  2. In ‘Power Saving’ (aka ‘Battery Save’) mode, your device will only use WiFi and mobile cellular networks to find your location but will not use GPS

  3. In ‘GPS only’ (aka ‘Device only’) mode, it will take longer for your device to get an accurate fix on your location

  4. By using ‘High Accuracy’ Location mode, your device will uses all possible location-detection methods to speed up and improve the accuracy of the location detection

Resetting Assisted-GPS (AGPS) data

List of Android Permissions
The Bringg Driver App will only request permissions required for functionality enabled for the use by the specific driver

The following list is an example only. Copied from https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.overvyoo.client on 14 May 2018.

This app has access to:

  • Identity

  • find accounts on the device

  • Contacts

  • find accounts on the device

  • Location

  • approximate location (network-based)

  • approximate location (network-based)

  • precise location (GPS and network-based)

  • Phone

  • directly call phone numbers

  • Photos/Media/Files

  • read the contents of your USB storage

  • modify or delete the contents of your USB storage

  • Storage

  • read the contents of your USB storage

  • modify or delete the contents of your USB storage

  • Camera

  • take pictures and videos

  • Microphone

  • record audio

  • Wi-Fi connection information

  • view Wi-Fi connections

  • Location

  • approximate location (network-based)

  • precise location (GPS and network-based)

  • Other

  • receive data from Internet

  • view network connections

  • pair with Bluetooth devices

  • access Bluetooth settings

  • full network access

  • run at startup

  • draw over other apps

  • control vibration

  • prevent device from sleeping

  • read Google service configuration